Jake Paterson takes out Margaret River Classic

THE 32nd Margaret River Classic came back from the dead on November 2-4, testing WA’s most experienced competitive surfers and local underground surfing talent.

The three competition days offered challenging 2-3ft surfing conditions and more than 120 entries were taken across six age divisions and two novelty divisions.

Together, WA’s surfing community celebrated grass roots sport at one of WA’s premier surfing venues, Surfers Point.

Run by the Margaret River Boardriders Club in conjunction with Cowaramup Bay Boardriders Club and Surfing WA, the event was volunteer driven and generated a strong community atmosphere and competitor comradery across a broad age demographic with surfers aged from 13  to 65 years old.

After a year’s hiatus due to a lack of public support and a fire ravaged coastal region, the event was made possible by major sponsors including Settlers Tavern, Super Advice Services, West, Margaret River Sign Co, Gravy Design, River Fresh IGA, Beach Life Surfshop; the surf industries biggest brands and the town of Margaret River.

The blue ribbon Open Mens division was hotly contested with past Pipe Master champion Jake Paterson defeating past Australian junior champion Creed McTaggart, two time Classic winner Tom Innes and past Eddie Aikau Wiamea big wave winner Paul Paterson respectively with a knee jerking air-floater combo in the dying minutes of the final.

“It’s great to have won this event for the second time since I was a junior. The conditions were also mushy and stormy the first time I took it out years ago,” said Paterson.

“We are so lucky to live in WA, we are spoilt for waves in the South West and live in the best place in the world. I have travelled all over during my time competing on the World Tour so trust me, I know!”

The club now turns its focus to the remaining championship events for the season with a junior event on November 11 and an open event on November 17 in Prevelly. The club will also host the final championship junior and open in December in Gracetown.

Classic results

Open Mens: 1st: Jake Paterson, 2nd: Creed McTaggart, 3rd: Tom Innes, 4th: Paul Paterson; Open Womens: 1st: Mikala Greene, 2nd: Bronte Macaulay, 3rd: Samantha VanZyl, 4th: Eliza Greene; Pro Junior: 1st: Josh Burke, 2nd: Shaun Green, 3rd: James Fleming, 4th: Max Marsden; Locals Only: 1st: Jake Jakovich, 2nd: Jade Parker, 3rd: Andrew Sheridan, 4th: John Davies; Over 40s: 1st: Lane Alver, 2nd: Mark Clift, 3rd: Paul Paterson, 4th: Ross Fleming; Over 50s: 1st: Mike McAuliffe, 2nd: Dave Gornell, 3rd: Mick Shaw, 4th: Kim Delaney; Legends Expression Session: 1st: Bill Gibson, 2nd: Frank Hayter; Paddle Race: 1st: Michael Short, 2nd: Jack Robinson.

Novelty awards

Brad Smith Memorial: Clay Caithness; Best Pipe: Jake Jakovich; Best Wave: Tom Innes; Best Power Manoeuvre: Jethro Hedstrom; Best Wipe Out: Sharky; Dare Devil Award: Dave Englert; Most Entertaining: Cruz Sheridan, 5 years old; Best Air/Trick: Creed McTaggart; Queen of the Contest: Carly Jane Andersson; Best Judge: Andrew Hunter; Over 50 Perished Grommet Award: Tony Thomas; Women’s Encouragement Award: Sandy Tugwood; Women’s Best Manoeuvre: Eliza Greene; Highest Placed Unsponsored: John Davies; Best Junior

Manoeuvre: James Fleming; Kook of the Comp: Nathan Psaila; Best Aloha Spirit: Samantha VanZyl; Best Sportsmanship: Keighley Bremner; Best Over 40’s Manoeuvre: Dave Chick; Best Over 50’s Manoeuvre: Mike McAuliffe; Best Local Manoeuvre: Jaxon Chadwick; Best ON AIR Comedian: Nathan Psaila.

For results visit www.margaretriversurf.com.au or www.surfingwa.com.au.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide