Cape to Cape Explorer Tours lead regional charge into Tourism Awards

Margaret River region business Cape to Cape Explorer Tours have been named finalists in four categories in the 2017 Western Australian Tourism Awards.

As well as being shortlisted in the categories of Ecotourism, Tour & Transport Operators and Excellence in Chinese Tourism, Managing Director Gene Hardy is up for the coveted FACET Golden Guide Award.

Mr Hardy said recognition as a finalist in the awards was a testament to the hard work and dedication of the entire team.

“We have a great team of people here, and as we’ve grown we have had to learn to have people focusing on certain areas of the business to ensure those areas are run as smoothly as possible,” he said.

“The awards application process is quite time consuming – really time consuming, actually.

“But it forces you to take stock of all aspects of your business and is an incredibly rewarding process, seeing what you are doing right and what you can do better.”

Mr Hardy said the inclusion in the Excellence in Chinese Tourism category was an example of their staff providing more opportunity for the business.

“One of our crew, Saul Cresswell was responsible for a huge amount of work in establishing connections and preparing information for the Chinese market,” he said.

“Saul speaks Mandarin and is a massive asset to us; he will also be heading to China soon to embark on a new venture for Cape to Cape Explorers, which will see us leading tour groups over there.”

Mr Hardy said the key to the eco-tour business’ success lay in a “genuine desire to see people have the best possible experience”.

“I’m really passionate about people walking away from our tours thinking – ‘that was one of the best things I’ve done’.”

Cape to Cape Explorers is joined by regional businesses South West Eco Discoveries, Vasse Virgin, Pullman Bunker Bay Resort, Harvest Tours, Top Drop Tours, Walk Into Luxury, Grape Escape South West Tours, Fervor and the Margaret River Gourmet Escape as finalists in the awards.

Category winners will be announced in Perth on November 11.