Augusta, Vasse and YOBS share finals honours

Opening batsman Ben Clarke led the way for YOBS with a half-century in Saturday’s A-Grade T20 grade final against Dunsborough. Photo. Vanessa Hatton.

Opening batsman Ben Clarke led the way for YOBS with a half-century in Saturday’s A-Grade T20 grade final against Dunsborough. Photo. Vanessa Hatton.

YOBS, Vasse and Augusta Cricket Club shared the honours when the Busselton-Margaret River Cricket Association’s second annual T20 grand finals were played in front of a bumper crowd at Barnard Park on Saturday.

One of the cricket association’s most successful days in its 108-year history saw three highly competitive playoffs take place, along with the first ever women’s game in the district.

The hard-luck story on the day involved Dunsborough Cricket Club.

After doing all the hard work to finish on top in all three grades of the T20 competition, they finished runner-up in each division.

Busselton Mayor Grant Henley and cricket association life member Barry House joined the post-match presentations for the T20 trophies, which were donated by Karl Clively’s Rebound Indoor Cricket Centre (C-Grade), Geographe Financial Group (B-Grade) and Matty Braid (A-Grade).

The women’s game was a successful social starter for the ladies, with 14 players being put into two sides and getting assistance from a few of the men so that they could play their inaugural match, 15 overs per side.

A Grade

The A-Grade men’s grand final between YOBS and Dunsborough saw YOBS, put into bat, post 6-135 from their 20 overs with opener Ben Clarke (53 runs off 50 balls) lead the way before he was brilliantly run out by Lachie Milton with a throw from square-on.

Haig Colombera’s 30 runs off 29 balls was also instrumental in setting a tough total for YOBS.

Josh Reagan, who conceded 22 runs off four overs, was the most economical bowler for Dunsborough, while Nathan Whitney claimed two wickets.

Dunsborough opener Aaron Andrich (22 runs) shook off a leg injury to top score in Dunsborough’s reply of 9-108.

Tight bowling from experienced YOBS fast bowlers Matty Braid and Neil Langenhoven and spinners Ethan Piggott and skipper Ben Payne put Dunsborough on the back foot from the start.

B Grade

The B-Grade grand final saw Shane Bromilow’s Vasse unit triumph over Dunsborough – an interesting outcome, considering Vasse only nominated their B-Grade team at the last moment this season. Dunsborough batted first and were held to 4-103 from their 20 overs, with Tom Begley (47) topscoring. Mention should be made of Vasse offspinner Tom Perks, who opened the bowling for his side and conceded only 11 runs in his four overs – an outstanding bowling performance in a T20 final.

Vasse’s innings started interestingly enough, when the very first ball – a half-tracker from Dunsborough skipper Ian Purcell – was pulled by Matt Kammann straight to mid-on.

Vasse allrounder Sam Shepherd then struck his first ball for six, and went on to hit a rapid 39 to set up victory for his side with two overs to spare.

Miles Darragh (46) played the steady hand for Vasse. Dropped catches played their part in the result, with Shepherd giving a caught-and-bowled chance early in his important innings.

Purcell, the unlucky fielder, was nevertheless easily the outstanding bowler for Dunsborough, claiming 2-11 from four overs.

C Grade

The C-Grade playoff between Dunsborough and Augusta was the closest of the finals, with Augusta scraping home in a nailbiting finish with three balls to spare, seven wickets down. 

Dunsborough looked to be on the track to victory after batting first and posting 7-134 off 20 overs, with both openers, captain Andy Mahoney (34) and club president Chris King (55), enjoying a great start. 

Augusta’s innings followed an uncannily similar path, with openers Braden Warnke (32) and Tyson Warnke (36) setting the pace. 

Dunsborough’s Andy Pantelias and Ray Pes then shared six wickets as Augusta collapsed. 

Eventually it was the unlikely Jayden Halliwell who steered Augusta home.

Man of the match awards went to Ben Clarke (A-Grade), Sam Shepherd (B-Grade) and Tyson Warnke (C-Grade).

Masters Cricket

Masters Cricket Sunday’s Masters cricket at Barnard Park saw a victory to Gerryhatricks. Cowaramup, batting first, made 5 for 126 and Gerryhatricks replied with 4 for 147.