Hockey's best and brightest awarded at end of season

Grand Final Winners (Year 6-8 Boys) and award winners.
Grand Final Winners (Year 6-8 Boys) and award winners.

2020 was an extremely successful year for Margaret River Hockey - the Year 6-8 Girls', A2 Women's' and Year 9-12 Boys' were named runners-ups while the Year 6-8 boys were crowned premiers.

Not only that, but the A2 men finished in bronze and a great influx of new players joined the club in the Primary school age group.

The end of season club wind-up and awards event at Cowaramup Brewing Co, was well attended and President Colin Fox said "I'm tremendously proud of the club, despite having to work around the issues of COVID-19 restrictions, with great coaches, managers and an awesome committee, plus all of the players, we have made it a memorable season, obviously, it was a shorter playing season with a lot more challenges than any year we've seen. As the outgoing President, I'd like to thank you all very sincerely for making this happen. That kind of teamwork is the only way the club will continue to improve".

Year 3-5 (Boys &Girls) Team

  • Coach's Awards - Summer Kruger & Hugo Underwood
  • Encouragement Awards - Bailey Adams & Ethan Hurford

Year 6-8 Girls Team

  • Coach's Award - Coco Stent
  • Most Improved - Asha Jenkins
  • Encouragement Awards - Hannah Bredenkamp, Bailey Duggan & Georgie Ding
  • Team Best and Fairest and League Best and Fairest - Olivia Brown

Year 6-8 Boys Team

  • Rising Star - Shaun Gannaway
  • Encouragement Awards - Lewin Barnsley, Caspian Ensor & Fletcher Lawrence
  • Most Valuable Player - Lincoln Rourke
  • Best and Fairest in the Grand Final - Lincoln Rourke
  • Team Best and Fairest & League Best and Fairest - Oscar Male

Year 9-12 Girls Team

  • Rising Star - Georgie Gannaway
  • Most Valuable Player - Chloe Altmann
  • Team Best and Fairest - Helena Willliams
  • Service to Junior Hockey - Ashley Jarvis & Chloe Altmann

Year 9-12 Boys Team

  • Encouragement Awards - Kai Henschel, Sam O'Loughlin & Bailey Kelly
  • Most Valuable Player - Angus Currell
  • Rising Star - Tom Gorta
  • Team Best and Fairest & League Best and Fairest - Oscar Male
  • Service to Junior Hockey - Conor Callow
  • Clubman Boys - Conor Callow & Henry Gorta

A2 Women

  • Coaches award - Sophie Ablett
  • Best and Fairest - Claire Sieber

A2 Men

  • Best and Fairest - Dan Stocker & Brynley Jenkins
  • Players Player - Pete Wright

Margaret River Hockey Club

  • Above the Line Nominees - Andy Male, Rebecca Gorta, Helena Williams, Cilla Bevan, Jen Boyle
  • Above the Line Winner - Oscar Male

For those wishing to continue some hockey fun, there is summer hockey to enjoy - 6 weeks of social hockey played in Busselton Thursday and Friday evenings. Margaret River Hockey Club will be registering teams for both nights and it is a good opportunity to try hockey. For information visit