Hawks defeat Bulls in tough junior contest

Livewire forward Oliver Healy lays a fierce tackle. Photo: Chloe Motzouris.
Livewire forward Oliver Healy lays a fierce tackle. Photo: Chloe Motzouris.

The two so-far undefeated teams Bulls Red and Hawks Red met in their 13s clash at Cowaramup Oval on Saturday with the Hawks coming out on top in a tough encounter.

Bulls led for most of the game but a fitter Hawks Red outfit finished full of running to pile on pressure in the last term.

A three goal burst from Sam Joyce and a great goal by Bonny Hastings in the final quarter saw Hawks Red gain some ascendency in what was a close and terrific game of football.

In a great team effort, standouts for Bulls were Cavan Payne for strength in the contest and great breakaway running; Anaru for tackling strength and good use of the ball; Ethan and Kai for hard running, tackling and sheer determination. Jarrod Taylor at fullback stopped so many Hawks scoring efforts in the last quarter by great defending on the last line.

The end result was Hawks 7.8 (50) def Bulls 6.5 (41).

Glenn Ahola's coaching awards went to Jimi Traianos and Taashi Dingey.

Steve Kirby's coach awards went to Anaru Teddy, Raph Juniper and Marvin Ferris.

On Friday night under lights, Bulls Gold 13s played Hawks Navy at Gloucester Park. Rain set in during the first quarter and made for a tough contest in slippery conditions. Eventually, Bulls got on top. Avion Packer and Jack Zan were resolute all evening, and Novak Webster and Ezra Mann provided focal points up in attack.

Bulls got the win, 5.7 to 1.2.

Coach's awards went to Kian Monaghan-Hall, Griff Mammone and Novak Webster.

In the 11s Bulls Gold vs Hawks Orange game on Saturday, Orange dominated the scoreboard with Bulls trying hard all day. The Bulls team came alive in the second half but couldn't peg the margin back. Some fantastic sportsmanship was shown throughout the game from both sides and shaking hands after the game was just great, well done kids!

Coach's awards for Gold went to Harper Payne, Joey Cotterall and Charlie Moulten.