Yallingup OddBods create a fourth team in the Busselton Margaret River Cricket Association

FOUR OF A KIND: YOBS have named four captains for the new cricket season, Haig Colombera, left, Tom Payne, Darren Cameron and Matt Enright. Photo: Matty Braid.
FOUR OF A KIND: YOBS have named four captains for the new cricket season, Haig Colombera, left, Tom Payne, Darren Cameron and Matt Enright. Photo: Matty Braid.

YALLINGUP-ODDBODS (YOBS) will become the first club in the Busselton-Margaret River Cricket Association's 110-year history to field four sides when the new season gets under way this Saturday.

In addition to their regular A, B and C-Grade teams, YOBS have invented a fourth side, "YOBS Academy" which will compete in the C-Grade competition, starting the following week.

"We wanted to give more opportunity to younger players, and our club committee voted unanimously to make it happen," said YOBS club president Matty Braid said.

"Our Academy side will be mostly a collection of fathers and sons."

Braid said the new YOBS team would include young players such as Josh van Zyl, Max Donnelly, Aston Brooks, Hayden Jones and Riley Wood.

Matt Enright will captain the new YOBS Academy team. Other YOBS captains this season will be Haig Colombera (A-Grade), Tom Payne (B-Grade) and Darren Cameron (C-Grade).

"The club is in good shape and we are pleased to have Geographe Financial Group back again as our major sponsor," Braid said.

YOBS have also recruited Scott Young from Vasse, which will give their A-Grade attack two left-arm quicks, with Matt Connaughton at the other end.

"We've lost Troyden Thorp to Scarborough - we wish him all the best," said Braid.

Meanwhile, reigning Barnard Cup premiers St Marys have been bolstered by the retention of star wicketkeeper-batsman Ajith ("AJ") Rajapaksha from Sri Lanka.

"We've lost Rumesh Silva to Cowaramup and Cary Green has retired, but AJ will give us some batting depth and he is a star behind the stumps," said St Marys club president Ben Mattock.

"Danny Hatton and Peter G have been reappointed to captain the A-Grade and B-Grade sides, we hope to name our C-Grade skipper this week."

Young players are also a strong point for St Marys. Mattock said Saints had nine players in Cricket South West's Development Program: Rory Calhoun, Ryley Barrow, Mitch Barrow, Bailey Ford, Sean Zahra, Kieran Zahra, Issy Chandler, Spencer Drummond and Will Snaddon.

"The development kids play in the 12s, 14s and 16s age groups and have been together since trials in April. They are playing some games against premier clubs in the WACA competition," said Mattock.

"We have a hard-working committee at Saints and we are very happy to have key sponsorship from First National, WA Country Builders, Libby Mettam MLA and Sportspower Busselton."

St Marys are also strengthening their links in the veterans competition by aligning with Gerihattricks, who reached last year's Masters grand final.

Across at Dunsborough, the big news is the signing of experienced UK batsman Alex Roberts, who has played in the Perth competition for the past couple of years.

Hugh Mugford is Dunsborough's new A-Grade captain, while Cam Morris will also be a first-year skipper in the B-Grade. Chris Dudley has been reappointed to captain C-Grade.

"Tristan Mugford has come across from Hawks to join his brother, and we hope to get good value from young players such as Alex Cooke and Michael Byrne in A-Grade, as well as Tully Schofield and Jimmy Carter," said Dunsborough club president Mat Lepidi.

Promising young fast bowler Brodie Gould will miss the season due to a shoulder reconstruction.

"We are not worrying about the win-loss ratio at Dunsborough, it's more important to play cricket as it should be played - for enjoyment and to create a good inclusive culture," Lepidi said.

This story YOBS create a father and son academy side first appeared on Busselton-Dunsborough Mail.