Margaret River's Thank a Volunteer Day

Colin Fox (left) was named the 2018 Volunteer of Year on Wednesday December 5. Photo from May, 2018.
Colin Fox (left) was named the 2018 Volunteer of Year on Wednesday December 5. Photo from May, 2018.

More than 100 volunteers and their friends and family attended the 2018 Thank a Volunteer Day celebration at the Margaret River Civic Administration Centre Wednesday 5 December 2018.

Hosted by the Shire of Augusta Margaret River, the annual event is an opportunity to celebrate the work of the 230 active local volunteer organisations, whose members dedicate countless hours to support the community.

The event was also an opportunity to announce the winners of the annual Volunteer of the Year awards, as judged by Shire President Pam Townshend, Deputy Shire President Julia Meldrum and 2017 Volunteer of the Year Stuart Carrick.

Shire President Pam Townshend expressed her gratitude towards the volunteers, saying they were instrumental for many projects, groups, services and facilities to function.

“Volunteers are the backbone of our community,” she said.

“Every day I see and hear about the dedicated efforts of community members working across our Shire to assist others and to make our Shire stronger.” she said.

The Thank a Volunteer Day event coincides with International Volunteer Day, which was established in 1985 by the United Nations General Assembly and is celebrated on 5 December each year.

The Department of Communities who provide a small event grant to assist the Shire acknowledge the dedication of our local volunteers.

Volunteer of the Year – Winner:

Colin Fox

Volunteer of the Year -  Certificates of Appreciation:

Beth Carlessi

Denis Ogden

Karl Zdunic

Kellene Harvey

Lynda Donovan

Wendy Shearwood

Youth Volunteer of the Year – Winner:

Tenille White

Youth Volunteer of the Year - Certificate of Appreciation:

Brenton Tebbutt

Brigit McKenzie-Rae

Taj Thomas